Top Menu

How to balance the Chakras through Breathing

I have greatly enjoyed teaching my Yin Chakra Melt workshops in South Florida. It’s a combination of all the things I love: Yin Yoga + Chakras + aromatherapy healing + and of course getting to share my SOULSHINE messages! There’s so much information about balancing the 7 main Chakras. To learn more about each Chrakra and how they affect your moods, physical body and your emotional and spiritual self, click HERE.


In Hindu and yogic traditions, Chakra means “Wheel or vortex” and are energy points or nodes in the subtle body.There are 7 main Chakras, which are part of the subtle body, not the physical body, and as such are the meeting points of the subtle (non-physical) energy channels called nadiis. Nadis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force (prana) (non-physical) or vital energy (non-physical) moves. We have over 72,000 nadies in our bodies that move our prana. The Sanskrit word nadi derives from the root nad, which means “flow,” “motion,” or “vibration.” The word itself suggests the fundamental nature of a nadi: to flow like water, finding the path of least resistance and nourishing everything in its path. The nadis are our energetic irrigation system; in essence, they keep us alive.

Pingala Nadi is the right channel and corresponds to left hemisphere of the brain. It is red, masculine, hot, extroverted and associated with solar energy. The word pingala means “tawny” in Sanskrit. Pingala has a sunlike nature and male energy. Its temperature is heating and courses from the right testicle to the right nostril. Originating in Muladhara Chakra (the root), Pingala ends up in the right nostril.

Ida Nadi is the left channel and corresponds to the right hemisphere of the brain. It is white, feminine, cold, introverted and associated with lunar energy. The word ida means “comfort” in Sanskrit. Idā has a moonlike nature and female energy with a cooling effect. It courses from the left testicle to the left nostril and corresponds to the Ganges river. Originating in Muladhara, Ida ends up in the left nostril.

Sushumna Nadi is the central channel and connects the base chakra to the crown chakra. It starts at the base of the spine to the crown of the head, passing through each of the seven chakras in its course. It is the channel through which kundalini shakti (the latent serpent power) —and the higher spiritual consciousness it can fuel—rises up from its origin at the muladhara (root) chakra to its true home at the sahasrara (thousandfold) chakra at the crown of the head. In subtle body terms, the sushumna nadi is the path to enlightenment, energizing the seven chakras.

Alternate Nostril Breathing — Nadi Shodhana (NAH-dee shoh-DAH-nuh) — is a purifying pranayama that alternates the blockage of each nostril, channeling the air throughout your body in a concentrated flow. It balances the nadis, or channels of energy throughout the body, and harmonizes the left and right hemispheres of the brain, easing stress and anxiety. Its name comes from two Sanskrit words: “Nadi” meaning “channel” + “Shodhana” meaning “cleansing” or “purifying”

Click HERE for my Video of how to balance the Chakras through Nadi Shodhana (Alternative Nostril Breathing)

In Hatha yoga, the spine is an image of the “ladder” of consciousness. In Yoga mythology, the goddess, Shakti, rests after creating the world. She is pictured as a slumbering serpent wound three and a half (sometimes eight times) around herself, and therefor called kundalini, or “coiled one.” When the time is right, she awakens and ascends to Meru’s sumit, where she’s reunited with the waiting Shiva. Shakti’s awakening and journey is the realization of our authentic Self. In our case, kundalini is at the base of our spine, asleep to our infinite potential but coiled like a spring under pressure, eager to spring to life and transform through the journey to becoming our highest potential.

Balancing the lower 3 chakras will help release the Ego, the inner critic, and ultimately fears and insecurities. Journeying through the Heart chakra, which is related to unconditional love, peace and compassion, will help you connect to the 3 Higher chakras in order to be connected to your authentic true self and share your Dharma, your purpose. To watch a video on How to Connect to your True Self and discover your Dharma, click HERE.

My dream is to travel around the world with my Yin Chakra Melt workshops sharing the message of releasing our fears and connecting to our True Self. It is a daily journey to continue to love yourself, be mindful, and move from a place of courage and love each day. You are worth it!

If you are interesting in bringing my Yin Chakra Melt to your studio or town, please contact me

, , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes